About Us

A dedicated team of volunteers got together in June 1975 to fill a deep void in Limerick in relation to basic Family planning.

Limerick Family Planning – A brief history


Despite opposition, and due to the hard work of these volunteers, the Limerick Family Planning Clinic opened its doors on the 13th of February 1976.

From very humble beginnings in the Cornmarket Row, the clinic offered contraceptive advice and sold condoms. Volunteers staffed the clinic and opened on Tuesday and Friday evenings.

Forty eight years later the Limerick Family planning Clinic has developed into a well established service offering advice and full services in relation to family planning and personal health issues.

A major part of our service, in conjunction with the ICSP (Irish Cervical Screening Programme), is the provision of smear tests for women, invited by the ICSP to avail of free smear testing. The aim of this service is to reduce the occurrence of cervical cancer.

We are very fortunate to have a team of highly trained and dedicated doctors and nurses who offer expert and sensitive advice to our ever- growing number of patients.

The policy of the Limerick Family planning clinic has always been to offer the best service we possibly can to all our patients.
From the foundation of the clinic, we have operated on a non-profit making basis.

We are self-funding, and receive a grant from the HSE to cover Medical Card holders and Doctors Visit card holders.

We strive for excellence and continue to have all our doctors and nurses updated and trained in all emerging concepts and practices in the field of Family Planning and issues of personal health.


Caroline Hayes


Jarlath Phillips
Majelle Stackpoole
Kathryn Purdie
Sinead O'Halloran

Session Doctors

Dr Sinead Jennings
Dr Sarahanne Bennett
Dr Maeve Cahill
Dr Debbie White
Dr Karen Milne

S.R.N., I.F.P.A.

Mary Mcmillian
Ann Ui Nuallain
Mags McHugh
Angela  McMahon

The Executive Board

Keith Fawcett
Camilla O’Donoghue -Secretary

Management Team

Caroline Hayes – Manager
Dr Sinead Jennings

Board Meetings are held every quarter